The winner of the ICP / GOST First Photo Book Award 2020 was Léonard Pongo for the series The Uncanny.  Léonard‘s book is due to be published in autumn 2022. The shortlisted photographers were Jenica Heintzelman, Nura Qureshi, Bianca and riel Sturchio, Ilona Szwarc and Cansu Yıldıran. Read more here.

About the Award:

The ICP / GOST First Photo Book Award aims to promote and support the work of previously unpublished photographers and artists through the production of a first photo book by the ICP / GOST imprint. The call for entries for the ICP / GOST First Photo Book Award 2020 is now closed.

The winner will have their first photo book designed, edited, printed and published by the ICP / GOST imprint, including distribution, press and promotion with the opportunity to display the work through ICP’s platforms. The winner also receives a portion of personal copies of the book from the first print run.

The Award is open to artists of any age, working in the medium of photography whose work has yet to be published in book form by a mainstream publisher. The Call for Entries is now open and will run until 11.59 EST on 9 November 2020. The shortlist and winner will be announced in the winter.

The winner of the inaugural ICP / GOST First Photo Book Award was Nancy Floyd for the series Weathering Time. The five shortlisted photographers were Ignacio Colo, Ciaran Dunbar, Richard Andrew Sharum, Camillo Pasquarelli and Federico Vespignani. Read more here

The 2020 jury panel were:

Jacqueline Bates – Photography Director of The California Sunday Magazine
Mark Lubell – Executive Director, International Center of Photography, New York
John Edwin Mason – Writer, academic and photographer
Stuart Smith – Director, GOST Books
Lindokuhle Sobekwa – Photographer
Cemre Yeşil Gönenli – Photographer, publisher and FiLBooks Director


EUR Euro